North Carolina requires vehicles in 48 of its counties to pass a state inspection test each year before drivers can renew their registration. Residents of these counties must have an inspection done no more than 90 days before their plates expire. Before you start searching for NC state inspection near me it’s helpful to learn a little bit about what the testing entails and some other important details.
What Can I Expect to Take Place During an Inspection?
Unless you qualify for exemptions, there are generally two parts to the state inspection.
- Emissions Testing: The emissions testing, also known as a smog check, is done by going through your on-board diagnostics system. This is what controls key parts of your vehicle like the engine, transmission, and exhaust. The test checks to make sure none of these systems show signs of being flawed.
- Safety Testing: Your car will be thoroughly examined to ensure all safety systems and features are intact and in working condition. This includes the headlights, turn signals, reverse lights, brakes, tires, steering, and windshield wipers.
How Do I Know if My Car is Exempt?
There are some exemptions to North Carolina inspection laws, which allow owners of certain vehicles to bypass the process. Vehicles that run on diesel fuel are one exception. Also, vehicles that were manufactured in or before the year 1995 are not required to get an emissions test. However, you will still need to have a safety inspection performed. In addition, if you own a car that is 35 years or older, you are not obligated to receive either type of inspection. A fairly recent change to the guidelines state that models manufactured within the last three years with less than 70,000 miles may also be eligible for exemption from the emissions inspection.
How Much Does an NC State Inspection Near Me Cost?
The state has placed a maximum amount on what can be charged for an inspection. Emissions testing is capped at $30 while safety tests will be no more than $13.60. Additional Department of Transportation fees will also need to be paid to renew your registration.
What if My Car Doesn’t Pass Inspection?
If your vehicle fails to pass the inspection at first, your mechanic should be able to diagnose the problem. Then they will provide you with a solution to fix that problem. Due to the potential of repairs it’s recommended to not wait until the last minute for an inspection. You will want to give yourself plenty of time to have the work done without missing the deadline to show proof of a passed inspection.
Where Do I Get a NC State Inspection Near Me?
For residents in Forsyth County searching for the best NC state inspection near me, there’s no better choice than Xpress Lube of Kernersville. They are a state-approved inspection station. Their years of experience performing accurate tests while delivering unparalleled customer service makes them #1. Their attentive and friendly technicians make sure every customer feels comfortable. They ensure every customer feels at ease as soon as they walk in the door. When a repair is required, they will explain in detail what needs to be done. They will also share the options available to fix the problem. Every question is answered before they begin the work.
Schedule Your Inspection Today
Xpress Lube of Kernersville has a great team of ASE-certified technicians. They are available to help make sure your car is in the proper condition to pass both the emissions and safety testing. If you are in or around the Kernersville area, there’s no need to look any further for a licensed location where you can receive an NC state inspection near me and be back on the road in no time.