Before you can renew your registration and pay the property tax on your vehicle, you must get your car inspected. Usually, most people dread annual inspection notices. However, visiting a DMV inspection near me can be a pleasant experience when you visit Havoline® Xpress Lube of Kernersville.
The requirement for the safety inspection arose in the mid-1970s when NHTSA was trying to reduce accidents. At the time, the agency believed poorly maintained cars were responsible for many accidents.
Since then, some states have removed this requirement, claiming there is no conclusive data on its effectiveness. Unfortunately, NC isn’t one of those commonwealths. Thus, every year, you must bring your car to a certified inspection station.
All inspection stations charge $13.60, an amount the DMV sets. During the inspection, the technician checks certain components to ensure they’re within the minimum criteria set by NHTSA:
- Accessory lights
- Directional signals
- Foot brake
- Parking brake
- Rearview mirror
- Windshield wipers
- Exhaust system
- Emission control components
- Tinted windows, if applicable
If your vehicle fails to pass, you have 60 days to repair your car and have it reinspected.
Furthermore, you may also need an emissions test before you can renew your registration. The fee for this test is $30, set by the DMV. 19 counties in North Carolina have this requirement:
- New Hanover
This emissions testing requirement arose from the level of pollution created by automobiles in the 1970s. To reduce the smog covering many American cities, Congress passed amendments to the Clean Air Act. Under the EPA, automakers had to meet new standards for reducing pollution created by automobiles. Accordingly, some states enacted an emissions program to meet the standards set by this government agency.
However, as automakers have made improvements utilizing new technology, many states have eliminated these programs. Many counties in North Carolina have also removed this requirement. In the future, many experts believe the remaining counties will no longer have emission testing.
Furthermore, the DMV exempts certain vehicles from emissions testing:
- Light duty vehicles less than 3 years old or with fewer than 70,000 miles
- Vehicles that are 20 years or older
- Automobiles with diesel engines
- Farm vehicles
- Antique automobiles
Additionally, if your car can’t pass the emissions portion, you may be able to obtain a waiver. You must meet the following conditions before applying for an exemption:
- The vehicle passed the safety inspection.
- You have documented repairs of $200 or more to fix the problem.
Maintaining Your Car Can Help Avoid Problems
When car owners delay maintenance, the consequences can sometimes affect their annual inspection. Regular scheduled servicing will keep your engine running efficiently and your emissions within range. During your regular maintenance, your technician can let you know of any other potential problems.
Additionally, your owner’s manual is an invaluable tool for keeping your vehicle in peak condition. It will give a schedule for checking and replacing particular parts. Some important components requiring regular inspection include:
1. Oil and other fluids
2. Air filter
4. Tire pressure
DMV Inspection Near Me – FAQs
Wondering which DMV inspection near me you should choose? Havoline® Xpress Lube of Kernersville has been helping car owners maintain their vehicles for over 25 years. Below, we answer a few questions about our services and state-required inspections.
How Soon Can I Get My Car Inspected Before My Registration Renewal Is Due?
The DMV allows you to get your car inspected up to 90 days before your registration renewal is due. If you miss your renewal date, you can still legally operate your vehicle for 15 days after the expiration. However, you’ll need to pay a $25 late fee.
Additionally, if you move from another state to NC, you can register your vehicle without an inspection. However, the DMV requires an inspection at your next annual registration renewal.
What If My Car Fails The Safety Inspection?
DMV regulations give you 60 days to make repairs and re-inspect your vehicle. Of course, you can bring your car to any auto shop to fix your problem. However, take your automobile to the original inspection station to avoid repaying the inspection fee.
Ultimately, we think you’ll love our competitive prices and friendly service. With 4 ASE-certified technicians, we can fix nearly any issues you have with your car. Many of your neighbors already trust us with their vehicles. Here’s what a few of them say about us:
“Top notch service and amazing staff! Mac and Derrick run a tight ship.” – Christine Moore
“My experience was absolutely awesome. They are the best. Friendly, courteous and fast. That is all that you can ask for.” – Rick Maynard
Is There Anything I Can Do To Help Protect My Exhaust System From Corrosion?
Rust and corrosion are common problems with exhaust systems. Part of the reason these components are susceptible to corrosion is exposure to de-icing chemicals. To keep motorists safe in wintry driving conditions, towns spray roads with chemical substances to melt ice.
As you drive over treated roadways, de-icing chemicals accumulate on your undercarriage and parts of your exhaust system. Left alone, these chemicals begin to react with metal parts forming rust.
However, you can prevent corrosion by cleaning your undercarriage every time you expose your car to de-icing chemicals. Moreover, Xpress Lube has a modern car wash facility with monthly passes so you can clean your vehicle often.
For all your automotive needs including a DMV inspection near me, trust Havoline® Xpress Lube of Kernersville. Simply call us at 336-993-7697 to make an appointment or use our easy online form.